Who We Are

Limerick Diocese
Our Catholic Community

The Diocese of Limerick is a Catholic community of sixty parish communities living and working together in service of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Its geographical area comprises the greater part of County Limerick, part of County Clare and one townland in County Kerry. Eighteen of its parishes are located in the Limerick metropolitan area and environs.

The Diocese has over 100 priests and many committed lay people building up communities of faith. The Bishop is Bishop Brendan Leahy and the Diocesan Secretary is Catherine Kelly.

Clergy Contact Directory

The contact directory just holds information on the Clergy for the Diocese of Limerick at present. The directory can be searched by Full Name, Parish, Pastoral Unit or the first letter of the Surname.

Pastoral Plan

It has been an event of the Holy Spirit, an experience of deep encounter, a time of hope. The image of it that I treasure is one found on our Synod website - the hall in Mary Immaculate College with 400 people, lay, priests, single and married, young and older, gathered together in circles working hard but joyfully at discerning what God was calling us to as a Diocese.

- Bishop Brendan Leahy

Bishop Brendan Leahy

Bishop Leahy was born on the 28th of March 1960. He was ordained a Priest on the 5th of June 1986.  On the 10th of January 2013, he was appointed Bishop of Limerick and was ordained Bishop on the 14th April 2013 at
St. Johns Cathedral. 

Bishop Emeritus Donal Murray

Bishop Murray was born in Dublin in 1940, attended Blackrock College, Dublin, obtained his B.A. and Masters in Philosophy at U.C.D., his B.Div. at Maynooth and his License and Doctorate in Theology at the University of St Thomas, Rome. 

Diocesan Centre

This Office manages the day to day business of the Diocese. This includes daily interaction with and between parishes and with the National Epihttp://aoife.foley@limerickdiocese.orgscopal Conference (ie Conference of Irish Bishops)


The Finance Department is managed by Patricia Quirke, Finance Manager.  Karen Kiely is Finance Administrator.

The Diocese of Limerick Finance Function is located at the Diocesan Centre, St. Munchin's, Corbally, Limerick.

St John's Cathedral

St. John's Cathedral is the present day Cathedral in Limerick City. The Cathedral has one of the highest spires in Ireland at 265 feet and 9 inches from the base of the tower to the top of the Cross.

General Data Protection Regulation

A european data protection law, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) was introduced on 25 May 2018. This new law applies to all organizations that manage and process people’s personal information.